Newman Theological College 6th religious school in Alberta to grant degrees

Last week, the UCP cabinet gave Newman Theological College the ability to grant degrees.

Last week, Demetrios Nicolaides, Alberta’s minister of advanced education, recommended to the UCP cabinet to give Newman Theological College the ability to grant degrees.

Newman Theological College is a private Catholic theological school, founded in 1969 in Edmonton. The provincial government actually gave it the ability to grant religious degrees in 1969.

Although the Order in Council doesn’t explicitly say this, I assume, this new granting ability will include non-religious degrees. If so, it’ll become the 22nd post-secondary institution in Alberta to be able to grant degrees (applied, undergraduate, and graduate) and the 5th religious institution. Unless you include Concordia, then it’s the 6th.

The other 4 religious post-secondary institutions are Ambrose University in Calgary, Burman University in Lacombe, St. Mary’s University in Calgary, and The King’s University Edmonton.

Support this story

  • 183 people sent me a one-time donation. Donate once
  • 191 people send me a donation every month. Donate monthly
  • 309 people receive my monthly newsletter. Sign up

By Kim Siever

I live in Lethbridge with my spouse and 4 of our 6 children. I’m a writer, focusing on political news, social issues, and the occasional poem. My politics are radically left.

I’m also dichotomally Mormon. And I’m a functional vegetarian: I have a blog post about that somewhere around here. My pronouns are he/him, and I’m queer.

Comment on this story

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.